• Triunfo Water & Sanitation District Seeks to Fill Board Vacancy

    • Share:
    December 24, 2019
    The Triunfo Water & Sanitation District (TWSD) Board of Directors seeks to appoint an eligible member of the public to fill the vacancy created by the December 17 resignation of Director Susan Pan who recently accepted new employment in northern California.

    “I encourage residents interested in water issues and service to the community to apply to help ensure a continued reliable potable water supply and high-quality wastewater service in east Ventura County,” said TWSD Director and Board Chair James Wall. With an operating budget in excess of $15 million, the agency’s service area covers approximately 50 square miles and serves a population of approximately 33,000. TWSD receives no tax revenue and relies on customer fees and charges for services provided, including wastewater collection and treatment, potable water distribution and recycled water treatment and distribution.

    To be eligible to serve on the Board, a person must be registered to vote and must reside within the boundaries of the Triunfo Water & Sanitation District. The TWSD service area includes the communities of Bell Canyon, Lake Sherwood, Oak Park, and the Westlake Village and North Ranch portions of Thousand Oaks. The duties of a Director include attendance at TWSD Board meetings, held on the fourth Monday of the month at 5:15 p.m. in Oak Park, and the Las Virgenes-Triunfo Joint Powers Authority meetings, held on the first Monday of the month at 5:00 p.m. in Calabasas. The successful appointee will serve the duration of former Director Pan’s term, which expires in December 2022, and will have to stand for election at that time if he or she desires to continue serving on the Board.

    Those interested can find the application form on the TWSD website at triunfowsd.com or may request a copy by calling the Clerk of the Board at (805) 658-4642.  The deadline to submit an application for consideration is 5:00 p.m. on January 22. The TWSD Board will schedule a special meeting to interview candidates and potentially appoint a new director. In addition to Chair Wall, current Board members include Janna Orkney, Leon Shapiro, and Vice Chair Raymond Tjulander.

    Sandy Warren
    (805) 658-4608